#BlogTour #BookReview - Lay Me To Rest by E.A. Clark

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.

She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…

Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?

A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

It's my pleasure to be hosting the blog tour for Lay Me To Rest by E.A. Clark today, my grateful thanks to the author, publishers and Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me and for my…

About Me

Hello and thanks for stopping by Hair Past a Freckle. I'm Karen; a bibliophile, mum, wife, and cheese lover! I started Hair Past a Freckle in 2013 as a jack of all trades blog but quickly realised I mostly loved book reviewing and so decided to concentrate on books here. I now blog about other stuff sporadically on my other blog, A Thief of Time.
You may be wondering why I called the blog, Hair Past A Freckle. It was actually something my father used to say when I was growing up. If you're unaware of the saying, it is something said in response to somebody asking the time, usually because the person isn't wearing a watch (or in the case of my Dad, just to be annoying!) It seems a fitting name for a book blog as there can't be many readers who haven't completely lost track of time thanks to a good book.
As a child I was always being told to get some fresh air instead of sitting with my nose in a book. I was the sort of child who read packets if I didn't have a book to hand. I used to love nothing better than going to a summer fete and coming away with a pile of second hand books, that old book smell lured me from a young age! Two of my favourite books as a child were indeed bought from a fete - Shadow the Sheepdog by Enid Blyton and The Winter of Enchantment by Victoria Walker. I no longer have my much loved copies unfortunately but managed to replace both so my own daughters could enjoy them too - although naturally they have their own favourites.
The very first book I reviewed for this blog was The Humans by Matt Haig, it remains a very special book for me. In 2012 one of my brothers died by suicide. It was reading and later writing that helped me bear the cosmic shock to my world after his death. In the middle of the night when I couldn't sleep I listened to audiobooks. Books were my way of stepping out of reality for a while, a way of giving myself some respite from the thoughts overcrowding my brain. I first read The Humans a few months after his death and it was the beacon of hope I desperately needed. I've read many wonderful books since then, books that have lifted me, books I've learned from, books that have made me think, transported me to a different world, told truths about this world and kept me turning their pages long into the night.
Outside of reading I enjoy spending time with my husband and three daughters and our pets - we have a dog, a cat, a rabbit and a tortoise. I currently work part time as a teaching assistant and midday supervisor in a primary school. I'm an avid Doctor Who fan and also enjoy watching Once Upon a Time, Grimm and Homeland.
Thank you for reading, I can also be found as @karlou on Twitter and on my blog's Facebook page. I hope you enjoy my reviews, happy reading!

Comments