#BlogTour #BookReview - Lay Me To Rest by E.A. Clark

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.

She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…

Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?

A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

It's my pleasure to be hosting the blog tour for Lay Me To Rest by E.A. Clark today, my grateful thanks to the author, publishers and Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me and for my…

Book Review: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton




Set in 1682, The Miniaturist tells the story of Petronella (Nella) Oortman, an 18 year old from the country who after a hastily organised arranged marriage moves to her new husband, Johannes' imposing home in Amsterdam. She quickly discovers it's not just the house that is imposing, Johannes' unmarried sister, Marin is a cold and formidable presence. Meanwhile Johannes himself is barely present and Nella is thrust into a life of little purpose - despite her marriage, it is Marin who is undoubtedly woman of the house - and wedded to a virtual stranger. When Johannes brings home a wedding present for Nella, a cabinet sized replica of their house, she finds a miniaturist who makes perfectly scaled down models and vows to become mistress of this house if she can't be mistress of her actual home.
Things take a strange and potentially chilling turn though when she begins to receive gifts from the miniaturist that reflect or even foretell actual events within the household. And this is a household teeming with secrets and lies. In an Amsterdam where society's morals are controlled by an unforgiving church, these secrets threaten to tear all their lives apart.
This is a beautifully written, vivid and absorbing book with a plot that captures perfectly the attitudes and politics of the time, particularly the oppressive lives women were forced to endure. If I have one small complaint it's that I felt I would have liked to have learned more about the miniaturist. In some ways and hopefully without giving too much away I was left feeling there was more to come and I wondered if there will ever be a sequel that uncovers more secrets about the mysterious miniaturist. That's probably just wishful thinking on my part however, and shouldn't take anything away from this assured and compelling debut novel.
Thank you to the author and publishers for my copy received through NetGalley in return for my unbiased review.

The Miniaturist is published in the UK by Picador.

Comments