#BlogTour #BookReview - Lay Me To Rest by E.A. Clark

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.

She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…

Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?

A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

It's my pleasure to be hosting the blog tour for Lay Me To Rest by E.A. Clark today, my grateful thanks to the author, publishers and Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me and for my…

Book Review: A Grimm Legacy by Janna Jennings


Following my review of Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm by Philip Pullman recently, I couldn't resist this children's book inspired by the stories. Set in modern times the book follows four teenagers who are suddenly whisked from their regular lives and end up in the fairy tale land of Elorium. Fairy Tales in the modern world isn't a new idea of course, currently the TV shows One Upon a Time and Grimm both feature the characters from the stories as "real life".
Nevertheless this is an enjoyable and well plotted adventure story. The four main characters are strong and likeable and there is a good mix of the famous and the lesser known tales in the book. I didn't feel the bad guy was used enough and his character needs more fleshing out but this is the first book of presumably a series and so I'm sure more will be forthcoming there. In all I think A Grimm Legacy is a solid start to a new series and will particularly appeal to children aged around 9-13 years.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley in return for my honest review.

A Grimm Legacy is published by Patchwork Press.

Comments